Climate equity and corporate renewable energy procurement

Webinar
Date
16:30 CEST
07 Sep 2021
End
17:30 CEST
07 Sep 2021
Location
Virtual

On Tuesday, 7 September, 7:30 AM PST / 4:30 CEST / 5:30 EAT Sustainable Energy for All (SEforALL) and Energy Peace Partners are co-hosting a webinar called Climate Equity and Corporate Renewable Energy Procurement: Linking High-impact Procurement to Energy Development Needs in Africa.
 
With over 300 corporations committing to 100 percent renewable energy globally, there is a significant opportunity to leverage corporate procurement dollars to support high-impact, climate-positive energy access projects in regions that struggle to attract traditional climate finance and corporate investment.

Microsoft’s recent inclusion of climate equity in its annual sustainability report is a promising development and illustrates how companies are beginning to extend their sustainability commitments to include broader social benefits.

This webinar will highlight examples of, and opportunities for, corporate engagement and renewable energy procurement mechanisms for high-impact projects in Africa. We will present the landscape of renewable energy development in Africa, the acute financing needs to support energy access projects across the continent, and the opportunities to leverage corporate renewable energy and climate commitments to accelerate Africa's energy transition.

Speakers include: 

  • Joan Chahenza, Director, Energy Access Financial Advisory, African Minigrid Developers Association (AMDA)
  • Olivia Coldrey, Head, Energy Finance and Clean Cooking, Sustainable Energy for All (SEforALL) (Co-host)
  • Vanessa Miler-Fels, Director Energy Innovation and Impact, Microsoft 
  • Sherwin Das, Managing Director & Orrin Cook, Innovative Finance and Asia Program Lead, Energy Peace Partners (Co-host)

Register here.

Programme

Energy Finance